Shop Exterior

Technical

After modelling the outside of the Charity Shop I spent quite a bit of time of textures and put a lot of effort into these as the front of our shop would fill the screen at the start of our short. I used a normal map for the bricks and a bump map for the grounds tiles.

My friend Tiago from JAM when teaching me how to texture using Vray said “The key to good texturing is in it’s imperfections, because nothing is perfect.” 

So I spend time on adding imperfections such as the bird poop on the shop’s sign and the dirt along the bottom of the walls.  I added some streaks to the window via a specular map etc.

Artistic

This was the exterior of the Charity Shop I modelled and textured. This was a bit of a long process as I struggled to actually picture the front of the shop in my head. I had different versions of different visions but am happy with the overall outcome.

I went with the idea of having the shop on a city centre street, with a rough and ready style. I wanted the outside to look hard and grubby to help make the inside look even more of a warm and welcoming place. I thought this would be an interesting contrast.

I decided on a pale blue to represent the sky behind the sun logo on the sign. Obviously the sun logo on the sign will tie in with the name of the shop/short and with the main character.

I chose duller colours for the surrounding random shops so the Charity Shop would stand out.

I went for a simpler box shape with nothing too fancy outside not to distract from the inside where we would want our audiences attention to focus.

Shop_Exterior_Render

SHOP_EXTERIOR_RENDER.jpg

Artistic Research

chew.jpg

 

Research

I did a lot of research into the different types of charity shops and how they look. I liked the various designs so took aspects from a range of exteriors to make mine. I chose to work simple in order to not make it look too fancy as I want it to come across as a bit run down and appealing in that sense. I liked the idea of having a block colour with a plastic sign above the door rather than wood as there would be  lot of wood inside. This would create a strong contrast.

Image result for charity shop

Image result for charity shop

british-heart-foundation-charity-shop-front-in-the-uk-ekxbw3E-SS3-DP-P00046-28-DT

Leave a comment